15分鐘認識商業網站SEO (搜尋引擎最佳化)

SEO guide

網路世界迅速成長演變的今日,雖然我們的市場行銷與廣告的目標仍維持不變,達成目標的方法卻有極大的轉變。文案撰寫已不再只是說服消費者購買產品並建立品牌,更需將您的產品和公司名列搜尋引擎的黃金位置。在以下的短文中我們將分享一些搜尋引擎的基本最佳化技巧,並突顯SEO的重要性如何超越網站進而影響新聞稿(press release)以及白皮書(white paper)。這篇文章將幫助您為搜尋引擎優化網站並涵蓋成功達到搜尋引擎最佳化的10個層面。

公司網站SEO的10個關鍵

  1. 關鍵字-使用聰明且免費的工具來找出關鍵字,並將這些關鍵字使用在您網站的每個部分中。
  2. 結構-利用能直接指出內文的標題文字建立不同階層的標題標籤,網站架構力求簡單。
  3. 資訊頁-提供有用資訊以吸引更多連結。
  4. 盡可能擴增外部連結(incoming links)-使用商業夥伴,適當的論壇及社交網路來導入連結,但絕不要濫用連結。
  5. 維持"優良"的網站行為-不要在網頁中加入過多的關鍵字、使用隱藏內容或從不正當網站中導入連結來擾亂搜尋引擎。
  6. 使用Flash-儘量精簡Flash導覽元素,增加URL連結;如果不確定的話,可將頁面內容從flash中移出。
  7. 文字圖像化(Text as images)-避免將文字轉成圖片,若非使用不可時也一定要將原始文字內容放置於網站內容中。
  8. 獨特且新鮮的內容-使用原創內容並時常更新網站來改善搜尋排名。
  9. 精進-隨時留以您的網站排名與統計資料,藉以作為經進網站搜尋結果的基礎。

目標-不要過度著迷於SEO,但一定要確保當有人造訪您的網站時,能夠達到預期的成效。

超越SEO的網站

  • 商業文件-鼓勵將SEO的概念使用在較傳統的文件上若這些文件也將被放在商業網站上。
  • 考量SEO的命名-選擇獨一無二的產品或品牌名稱,可確保它們能輕易的被Bing 、Yahoo或Google搜尋到。

1.使用關鍵字(keywords)與關鍵詞彙(keywords)

當您將在領域中的經驗與Google和其他搜尋引擎提供的工具結合後,要辨別有用的關鍵字就相對的變得容易多了。您可先在單子上列出與您的產業或產品線相關的詞彙。想像您是一位潛在客戶,您會想出一組什麼樣的關鍵字詞以尋找出符合您需求的產品與其相關資訊。回看我們前面所討論到的SEO基本概念,我們能了解到過去關鍵字通常為單獨字彙的情形已轉變,現在人們多以搜尋多個詞彙為主,因此在設定您的關鍵字時不可忘記這點。現在我們需要擴展這項資訊並查明哪些字詞才是對我們網站最重要的字彙。下列的工具能提供您一些幫助:

Google的基本搜尋引擎也能在您輸入字詞的同時建議您更多的關鍵字。在尋找最佳關鍵字時,別忘了競爭者的網站也是個很好的搜尋依據,特別是搜尋排名較前面的網站。當您辨識出一組有強而有力的關鍵字,將其置入網站內容、標題標籤(title tag)及商業網站的標題文字(headings)中。通常這表示您需要將慣用的精簡化的縮詞拆開成完整的詞彙。使用關鍵字的其中一個重點就是,關鍵字的密集度並非唯一的要素,Google也會評斷關鍵字和其他有效關鍵字是否擺放在接近的地方。此外,別太在乎"元數據(meta data)"中的內容,因為現在多數搜尋引擎的網路蜘蛛(search spider)不再看重甚至完全不看meta data的內容。

2.為搜尋引擎優化架構您的網頁

要為SEO架構您的網頁並不難,下面是一些要點。使用簡單,但是具描述性(descriptive)的網頁標題。在每頁的description標籤中置入精確的頁面簡介能同時幫助搜尋引擎得知網頁得內容,並增加潛在客戶在搜尋結果中選擇點閱您的網站。每個頁面必須有摘要網頁內容得 h1標題標籤,以及置放於其他段落的子標題 h2到 h5(請不要只用 h1及h2 來區分文章的階層)。當您在建立Html連結時,包含在頁面中所置入的定為錨,請連結中含納幾個描述目標連結的文字。友善的在每張影像的alt屬性中加入描述性的關鍵字(別忘了在描述中要加入圖片及圖像文字(word picture)。)最後,網站的導覽列一定要儘可能簡單,並製作網路蜘蛛友善的XML網站地圖(sitemap)來確保您的網頁能被搜尋引擎找到。有許多免費工具專門幫助您製作這樣的sitemap。

3.在您的網頁提供有用資訊來吸引連結

商業網站的關鍵目標即吸引能幫助您業績上升的潛在客戶。含有用資訊的網頁看似與您的銷售過程無關;"我們不是為了教客戶我們的專業技能而架設網站的"-是許多企業聽到"請在網站中加入教育性網頁"這樣的建議時會有的反應。不過提供有用資訊的教育型的網頁確是將您的商業網站進行優化並增進排名的關鍵。簡單的說,越是良好的網頁內容,就會有越多的人連結,而越多優質的外部連結相對的就會幫助您在相關關鍵字中產生更好的排名。

4.盡可能擴增外部連結

第一步先從一些現有網站和與您產業相關的機構開始尋求外部連結。與總公司、貿易機構和名聲不錯的供應商互相交換連結。接下來從社交層面來看,您如何能使員工利用他們在Linkedin、facebook等社交網路上人脈來獲取有用的外部連結。若在您的領域中存在專業的論壇,您可登錄論壇並加入討論,別忘了在您的簽名檔中加入您網頁的連結。將您網站上含有用資訊的網頁加入維基百科(Wikipedia)的相關連結中,並在網路上搜尋是否有人提出您可用您的網頁作為答案連結的問題。一般認為搜尋引擎較重視.edu/.ac等網域的連結,因此若能有來自大學的外部連會成為很好的助力。關鍵在於使這些連至您網站的外部連結看起來自然並有用,避免被列為垃圾網站。

5.維持"優良"的網站行為

在優化網站和企圖欺騙搜尋引擎來得到好的排名之間有一條分界線。若您的行為屬於後者,您會很快的發現您會從搜尋結果中消失,因此請參考下面的指引,以保持良好的信用。避免過度填塞的關鍵字(關鍵字堆砌-keyword stuffing),換句話說,您必須適度的將關鍵的字彙安排在文中,使用超過合理的量會被視為惡質網站。確保您製作的網站是一般讀者能夠閱讀的,如:不使用過小的字體或隱藏在圖片後方。不要接受連結農場/專製造垃圾連結的網站(link farm)或看起來不正直的網站交換連結。使用rel="nofollow"來防範您的網站因訪客留言中的垃圾連接受到負面的影響。最後,若您想要知道更多相關守則,請參考:

6.聰明使用Flash

幾年前搜尋引擎還沒有辦法為網站上的Flash內容產生索引,但現在適當編寫Flash的內容,特別是由XML或文字檔載入的Flash,不再是SEO的噩夢。不過,Flash仍有個致命的缺點就是-導覽。Google可能無法解讀複雜的Flash導覽,通常無法將其連結至網站內容或分頁。要解決這個問題可使用一個小技巧-網站的架構簡單化並在一些關鍵部份使用特殊的URL連結(試試看SWFAddress 或 UrlKit)。不過最簡單的的方法還是盡量只將Flash用選單和裝飾,避免過量使用。

7.避免將文字圖像化

我知道這用不著我說,但請避免使用圖片來顯示文字。仍有些網頁偏好使用圖像顯示文字。有些時候是數據表(datasheets)這類製作的人不想重新打出來或是受到字體的限制。有時候網頁設計師可能想套用無法用Flash排出的特殊的排版。Yahoo和Google不可能搜尋出他們看不到的文字,因此他們也不可能對不存在的關鍵字做出任何反應。若您非使用文字圖不可,至少別忘了使用alt標籤標示圖片中的文字。

8.製作獨特的網頁內容並時常更新

SEO的另一項要素就是要有獨特的內容,搜尋引擎能察覺您的內容是不是原創的,且不會依據他們已在別處見過的內容來更改搜尋排名。這表示您應避免直接使用別的網站上出現的內容即使您有權這麼做。最新的搜尋演算方式(search algorithm)如Google的Caffeine也根據內容的新鮮度來做排序,因此頻繁的更新變得十分重要。至少應該要隨時讓網站保持與公司動態同步。最新的新聞發佈、公司新的里程碑、最新產品的上市和線上財務資訊更新。經常性地更新網站也會讓您的網站對於較專業的使用者更具吸引力。

9.不斷研討精進您的SEO

為SEO優化您的商業網站是一個持久地賽程-您不但需要隨時確認您的網站排名也不能忘記要留意競爭者得情況。除了檢視關鍵字的排名之外,研究您網站拜訪者得數據資料也一樣重要。您的網站伺服器會提供您得到相關數據的工具;您亦可使用精確好用的Google Analytics或取得其他不同的付費服務。藉由研究這些數據資料您能清楚掌握改善您的網站將如何影響造訪者得流量、種類及來源。從瞭解哪個關鍵字引導更多人造訪您的網站讓您得知網站中得哪些部分達到了您的目標,哪些部分沒有;您也能重新得角度看待您的網站。

10.記住網站若無法達到成效SEO作再好都沒用

我們都曾經點擊一個在搜尋結果中排名前幾名的網站並在兩秒後因網站不易閱讀、缺乏關聯性或看起來不撰頁而離開網頁。這就是傳統技巧發揮作用的地方:決定您希望拜訪者進入網頁後採取的行動,使用文字和視覺畫面來達成這個目標。您的終極標的應該是建構出受到高度討論、引來您的目標顧客群已達成您所設定的目標。若您沒有這個清楚的概念,那您所花費在改進SEO的時間都將付諸流水。

超越網站之外的SEO

我們通常會以為SEO(搜尋引擎最佳化)僅止於架設或更新企業網站,但在非線上業務(offline business)和線上業務(online business)得間隔逐漸消失的同時,我們也需要更加主動的出擊。

  • 將SEO的思考模式套用在其他文件上

    現今許多我們為其他用途所撰寫的文件,最終也將發布於企業網站上。新聞稿(press release)、白皮書(white paper)以及其他產品簡介等已逐步成為企業網站上不可或缺的一部分。
    企業應該鼓勵員工在撰寫各種文件時,留意SEO的層面;網站管理員也應該思考如何讓這些形式的文件也能保持搜尋引擎友善(search engine friendly)。簡單的做法包含確保新聞稿包含豐富的關鍵字,並在較長得文件(如:white pappers)中加入輔助SEO的摘要。呈現在商業網站上的文件應該加入連結以提高排名(這點可輕鬆用Word得巨集功能達成)。

  • 考量SEO的命名

    想要讓搜尋引擎更迅速找到您的網站,還有一個簡單的方法:避免在公司名稱、產品、功能和品牌名稱中使用常見的字彙。例如:Qualcomm的mirasol品牌和晶讚光電的YODN品牌皆為極有效的品牌名稱。相較之下,我們的 "Convince Copywriting"品牌名稱雖然完美的傳達我們的能力,不幸地這個名稱想要被搜尋引擎找到卻不是這麼得容易。使用一個獨一無二的品牌名稱幾乎保證搜尋您的公司名稱時,您公司的商業網站會在搜尋引擎中排名第一。

結論

在前面的文章中我們盡可能在簡單的囊括大量的有用資訊,下面將為您挑出您不能不帶走的精華。第一、瞭解並掌握您的關鍵字,確保它們充分的被置放於適當的位置。第二、為增加來自權威網站的外部連結做好佈局的工作。第三、試著去除任何阻礙搜尋引擎找到您的網頁內容的壁壘。搜尋引擎最佳化是一個持續進展過程中的一部分,它自網站之外的境界開始,這個過程將隨著網站的存在而持續發展。

希望這篇關於搜尋引擎最佳化的文章能夠對您產生莫大的幫助。我同時也期望外界擁有的專業SEO相關長才的顧問們,能提供我對這篇文章的意見。

關於作者
Bob Cook說服力文案撰寫社(Convince Copywriting)的資深撰文兼CEO。說服力專門為高科技公司撰寫市場行銷相關商業文件。他們主要為亞洲地區製造公司撰寫從新聞稿、網站至包裝及雜誌文章。

15 minute guide to understanding SEO for Business websites and beyond

SEO guide

With the growth of the internet the purpose of marketing and advertising has not changed, but the way achieve our goals has. Copywriting is no longer about simply persuading customers to buy and building brands, but about getting your products and company listed  into prime positions in search engines.  In this short article we share some basic search engine optimization tips and highlight how the importance of SEO goes beyond websites and touches areas such as press releases and white papers.  The article will help you optimize your site for search engines and covers the ten key aspects of successful SEO.

The 10 SEO tips for the company website

  1. Keywords – Use your savvy and free tools to identify keywords, then include them in every part of your site content .
  2. Structure – Create informative headings with different level tags and use a simple site structure
  3. Information pages – Develop useful and informative pages to attract links
  4. Maximizing incoming links – Use business associates, suitable forums, and social networks to get incoming links, but don’t spam
  5. “Good” website behavior –Don’t annoy search engines by adding too many keywords, having hidden content, or getting links from dishonest sites
  6. Using Flash – Keep navigation inside Flash elements simple, add URLs, and if in doubt remove the page content from Flash
  7. Text as images –Avoid placing text as images and if you do have to ensure that the plain text is on your site somewhere
  8. Unique and fresh content – Use unique content and update regularly to improve your ranking
  9. Refining – Pay attention to your site’s ranking and statistics and refine your site based on the results
  10. Purpose – Don’t get too obsessed with SEO, do ensure that your site is effective once people actually visit.

SEO beyond the website

Business documents  – Encourage the use of  SEO concepts in more traditional documents that will end up as part of business website
Naming for SEO – Select unique product or brand names to ensure that they are easy to find when searched for on Bing, Yahoo or Google

1.Using keywords and keyphrases

Identifying useful keywords is relatively simple once you combine your experience of your field with the tools available from Google and others.    Start off by creating a list of words that you associate with your industry and product line.  Imagine that you are a potential customer, think of the groups of keywords (i.e. phrases) you would search for to learn about products that meet your needs.   Looking back at past discussions of  SEO basics we can see that once keywords tended to be individual words, now that people are more search savvy the term keyphrases seems more appropriate, so bear this in mind as you choose.  Now we need to expand these and ascertain which are the most important words for your company’s website, the following tools should help:

Even Google’s basic search engine will help by suggesting additional words as you type.   In the hunt for good keywords one of the other places to look is your competitors’ websites especially if they seem to have a good ranking. 
Once you’ve identified a good set of powerful keywords incorporate them into the website content, title tag, and headings of the business website.  Often this means expanding the content a little to include a phrase rather than the single word that you might normally choose.  One aspect of using keywords effectively is to consider that it’s not just keyword density that is important, but that Google also ranks depending on the proximity of keywords to other effective keywords in the text.  As a side note don’t worry too much about what you put in the meta data part of the page as this is now given little or no weighting by search spiders.

2.Structuring your pages for SEO

Putting together a page structured for SEO isn’t hard so let’s look at the key points. Use simple, but descriptive page titles for each page. Include a good page summary in the description tag of each page both for search engines and to encourage search engine visitors when your site does comes up. Each page needs to have an informative h1 heading and a few lower
h2..5 headings for other sections (make different levels not just h1 & h2).

  When you create html links, including those to anchors the same page,  use a few words that describe the location that the link goes to. Use the alt attribute to describe each image you add in a keyword friendly way  (do include the word picture or image in your description). Lastly make the navigation of the website as simple as possible and create a search spider friendly XML sitemap to make sure it can all be found.  This can be done with any number of free tools.

3.Informative topic pages as link attractors

The key purpose of a business website is of course to attract customers who will make your business more profitable. Informative pages seem to be irrelevant to the sales process; “We’re not here to teach the customer how to do our job” is the kind of feedback you’ll often hear when proposing educational style pages.  But regarding optimizing your business’ site information based pages are a key tool in increasing ranking.  Putting it simply, the better the content, the greater the number people who will link to it, and the more good quality incoming links there are, the better the ranking on that relevant keyword will be.

4.Maximizing incoming links

Start your quest for incoming links by looking at existing sites and other organizations associated with the business.  Exchange links with the parent company, trade organizations, and reputable suppliers.   Now examine links from a social level how can you use your staff’s social network to get useful incoming links from Linkedin, facebook etc.  If your field has expert forums then take part in the discussion and make sure that there is a link to your website in your signature. If you’ve got informative topic pages add them to the relevant Wikipedia entry or search for questions to which a link your pages is the answer.  Engines supposedly place heavier weighting on .edu/.ac domains so a few links from a university would be a nice booster.  The key in all of these places is for links to your website to be natural and genuinely useful, try and avoid the perception of spamming sites.

5.“Good” website behavior


There is a fine line between optimizing a website and trying to trick search engines into listing you. If they feel you’re doing the latter you’ll quickly find your site nowhere in the listings, so here is a guide to staying in their good books.   Avoid “keyword stuffing”, in other words you need enough legitimate content mixed in with the keywords to be seen as an honest site.  Don’t create content that a genuine visitor wouldn’t be expected to read i.e. written in a very small font or hidden behind images.  Ignore offers of link exchanges with link farms or dishonest looking sites.  Use  rel=”nofollow” if you allow comments to ensure that your reputation is protected from any spam links that end up in the comments. Finally, if in doubt check the guidelines:


6.Be smart using Flash

A few years ago search engines simply couldn’t index Flash content, but those days are long gone and well coded Flash content is no longer the SEO nightmare that it once was.  This is particularly  true if the content for the Flash is loaded from XML or text files.  However Flash still has a key disadvantage – navigation.  Google may not understand the complex navigation of a Flash file and very often can’t link to content or subpages in the Flash. One technique is to use a relatively simple structure and add unique URLs for key sections  (try using  SWFAddress or UrlKit) .  But the simplest technique is to make it a policy to use Flash for only menus and decoration, and avoiding placing large amounts of content in it.

7.Avoid showing text as images

I know I shouldn’t have to say this, but don’t use images to show text.  There are still sites that use images of text whether they are datasheets that someone didn’t want to retype or sort out fonts. Or sometimes you see it when there are specific layouts that the web designer couldn’t do it in Flash.  Yahoo and Goggle are not going to be able to index words that they can’t see, and are not going to act on keyword that they don’t know exist.  If you absolutely have to have an image of text then place the same text as text, using the alt attribute, on the page or in an alternative location in the site.

8.Make content unique and freshen regularly

An important factor is to have unique content, search engines know if content isn’t original and won’t use content they’ve seen before to improve page rank.  This means that you should avoid text that will appear on other websites even if you have the right to use it.  The latest search algorithms such as Google’s Caffeine also rank according to how fresh (recent) content is, so plan updates accordingly.   At minimum keep the site up to date with current press releases, add company milestones, the latest products, and introduce online updates of your financial information.   A regularly updated site will naturally also have the benefit of appearing more professional to visitors.

9.Study and refine your SEO

Optimizing your business website for SEO is an ongoing process – not only do you have to check how well your site is doing but you should be aware of your competitors positioning.    Examining your ranking on keywords  is important, but so is understanding the statistics behind your website’s current visitors. Website statistics tools will be available from your site host; you could also use the excellent Google Analytics, or choose from many of the commercial services. Looking at the statistics for the site gives you a clearer idea of the effect that any changes have had on the number, type, and source of visitors.   Seeing which keywords lead visitors to the site will show you where it works and where it doesn’t, allowing you to bring new unique visitors to your business website.

10.Remember that good SEO is nothing if the website doesn’t perform its main purpose.

We’ve all experienced it, a website that you’ve clicked on because it came high in the search then left two seconds later because the content was hard to read, irrelevant, or the site didn’t look professional  This is where traditional skills come in; decide on the action you want the visitor to take on that page then use words and visuals to guide them to that goal. Your final aim to build is a business site with a high conversion rate where the right visitors come and enable you to achieve your goals. If you don’t get this aspect right you’ve wasted all your hard work in getting the SEO right.

SEO Beyond the website

We often think of SEO solely when we come to build or update the company website,  but with the line between offline business and online business rapidly disappearing it’s time to take a more active approach.

Thinking about other documents in SEO terms

These days many documents that we write for other uses will end up as part of a corporate website, Press releases, white papers, and product introductions frequently make the move and become an integral part of the corporate site. 
Staff should be encouraged to be aware of good SEO when writing all documents and site managers need to consider how to make this form of content more search engine friendly.  Simple techniques include ensuring that press releases are keyword rich and adding SEO friendly abstracts to longer documents such as white papers.  Including links in documents to pages on the business website will boost ratings (if you’re smart this can be achieved automatically through Word macros).

Naming for SEO

A simple way of making it easier to find your site on the web is to avoid using common words in the name of the company, product, feature, or brand. For example Qualcomm’s mirasol brand or Glory Praise’s Yodn brand are highly effective names.  If a potential customer hears the name they can instantly Google the product.  Whereas our own “Convince Copywriting” brand name describes what we do perfectly, but is unfortunately not unique or easily searchable.   With a distinctive product name or brand name you can virtually guarantee that your company’s business website will be number one when searching for that keyword.

Conclusion

We’ve packed a lot of information into quite a small space, but let’s look at the most important things you need to take away.  Firstly, understand your keywords then ensure that they are plentiful and placed well.  Secondly, devise strategies to increase incoming links from reputable sources. Thirdly, remove any barriers to search engines finding your content.  Search engine optimization is part of an ongoing process; it starts beyond the website and doesn’t stop as long as the website is active.

Good luck, I hope you’ve found this search engine optimization article useful. There are many professional SEO consultants who all have expert opinions on what makes for effective SEO and I look forward to receiving their comments.

About the author: Bob Cook is a senior copywriter at and CEO of Convince Copywriting.  A company that writes marketing materials for high technology firms. Mainly working with Asian manufacturers they produce a wide variety of text from press releases and websites to packaging and magazine articles.