11種方法-為您的行銷文件找到 “精確的" 英文單字

eleven tips

“選擇使用的文字"-是身為一位傳統的撰文 (這裡的“傳統"撰文是相對於專門產生文章內容這類“非傳統"的撰文來說的)所擁有眾多令人疑惑的樂趣當中的其中一種。雖然選用文字並非製造行銷材料中最困難的任務,尋找字彙來在新聞稿中表達出優雅的格調或在印刷廣告稿中激發讀者行動的欲望有時也十分艱鉅。在這篇文章中,我將提點出一些專門的同義詞辭典以及其他語文工具來幫助您找到適合用在您的英語行銷文件中的文字。希望這些工具能將您的文稿變得更流暢並減輕您的負擔。

11種行銷字彙的工具及資源

  1. 想要查尋詳盡的替代字彙?您能在thesaurus.comBabylon所有的同義詞。
  2. 需要為空間不夠而需尋找更簡短的字詞?試試Thsrs吧。
  3. 若您急著找到一個替代字,可以使用Visual ThesaurusLexipedia這兩個視覺化的同義詞詞典。
  4. 如想和某個字詞押韻,查詢Rhymes讓讀者更能清楚聽到您傳出的聲音。
  5. 若您想尋找更簡單的字詞,可到Plain English campaign尋求幫助。
  6. 您是否想找到一個字詞,但您只知道其定義?將您的定義放到reverse dictionary搜尋看看。
  7. 想找個能離線使用的同義詞詞典?下載免費的Wordweb
  8. 需要找個俚語嗎?造訪Urban Dictionary,您的文案也能與大街小巷的市井小民同步。
  9. 若您想檢索相反詞,使用Antonym Finder來闡明您的論點吧。
  10. 需要找個經典的替代字?用外來語在您的文案中加一點je ne sais quoi(a good quality that is difficult to describe 難以描述的好品質)如何?
  11. 苦思如何才能為某種主題活風格找到合適的字眼?使用Vocabgrabber來激發靈感吧。

1. 想要查尋詳盡的替代字彙?您能在thesaurus.comBabylon所有的同義詞。
以一個僅有26個字母的語言來說,英文有為數眾多的單字,若想透徹的瞭解哪些字彙意義互相關聯可利用thesaurus.com。另外亦可參考幾乎同樣詳盡的Babylon Thesaurus,它使用強大的Moby及Wordnet資料庫,但不如thesaurus.com的條理清楚。在一大串的同義詞中尋找合適字詞時應注意的是其中某些字是專門在特殊情形下使用的,有些則可能會比較隱晦或模糊。
http://thesaurus.com  http://thesaurus.babylon.com/

2. 需要為空間不夠而需尋找更簡短的字詞?試試Thsrs吧。
Thsrs 是較短的同義詞詞典,當您輸入較長的單字,它會搜索出較短且相近詞義的字詞。Thsrs 的小缺陷在於有些同義詞的搜尋結果可能會是字詞的延伸意義,因而與您輸入的詞不夠相近;並且不是所有您輸入的字詞都能得出結果。即便如此Thsrs在撰寫標語(taglines)和受到網頁空間限制的文案時仍是非常有用的工具。
http://www.ironicsans.com/thsrs/

3. 若您急於找到一個替代字,可以使用Visual ThesaurusLexipedia這兩個視覺化的同義詞詞典。
若您相信視覺化的工具使用起來比較有效率,並且正處於需要迅速找出好的替代字詞的緊急狀況,試試看這些視覺化的同義詞詞典吧。它們會將您輸入的字詞呈現在“替代詞網"的中心。有些人認為這些視覺化工具中最好的是Visual Thesaurus 但它不是完全免費的(有限時間內有字數限制)。一個不錯的免費替代方案就是我們介紹的Lexipedia
http://www.visualthesaurus.com/ http://www.lexipedia.com/

4. 如想尋找和某個字詞押韻的字彙,查詢Rhymes -讓您的訊息能夠更響亮的傳達出去。
這項工具或許比較不這麼常需要用到,但您可能仍會遇到想要在行銷文案中使用押韻的時候。以下推薦兩個實用押韻字工具:Rhymes-是一個好用的押韻字典;Write Rhymes -提供您工作區(可在其中輸入您的文案)附加內建的即時押韻字搜尋工具。
http://www.writerhymes.com/   http://www.rhymes.net/

5. 若您想尋找更簡單的字詞,可到Plain English campaign尋求幫助。
在某些特殊的情況下,您可能會想要闡明或讓讀者更清楚明白您的想表達的文義,這時候可參考Plain English campaign 提供的同義替代詞列表,方便協助您找到一個更簡單易懂的詞彙。(請注意:連結為一pdf檔案)
http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/files/alternative.pdf

6. 您是否想找到一個字詞,但您只知道其定義?將您的定義放到reverse dictionary 搜尋看看。
您可在Reverse dictionary輸入字義來搜索相近字義的字詞。它會搜索多個字典中的定義,因此只要你輸入的字義與字典中的定義相似,就能找到合適的字彙。它的缺陷在於通常只有前幾個搜尋結果可能會語您所要找的字詞相關,無論如何,請別忘了用其他字典確認找到的結果是否符合您的需求。
http://www.onelook.com/reverse-dictionary.shtml

7. 想找個能離線使用的同義詞詞典?下載免費的Wordweb
雖然還有許多其他不錯的可下載並離線使用的同義詞詞典作選擇,我個人認為最實用的選擇為Wordweb。若要問明原因,就是它結合了簡明的排版、清楚的字典和各種與字詞相關的“同義詞"、“反義詞"、“各類相關字(type of)"及“補充(see also)"。
http://wordweb.info/ (這個工具是免費的,但它也同時提供付費版本。)

8. 需要找個俚語嗎?造訪Urban Dictionary,您的文案也能與大街小巷的市井小民同步。
Urban Dictionary 是個開放給網路使用者編輯並增加俚語定義的詞典,它同時也為許多俚語提供俚語同義詞。在俚語詞典中不可避免會有許多攻擊性、咒罵、種族歧視或與性相關的字眼。若不是真正理解字義要正確的使用俚語還是不容易的。
http://www.urbandictionary.com/

9. 若您想檢索相反詞,使用Antonym Finder來闡明您的論點吧。
許多同義詞典會提供反義詞,但若您想找到只含有反義詞那樣簡潔的頁面卻是相對的比較困難。Antonym Finder 正能滿足這樣的需求,提供您對比的字詞幫助您加強文案的效果。
http://www.synonym.com/antonym/

10. 需要找個經典的替代字?用外來語在您的文案中加一點 je ne sais quoi (a good quality that is difficult to describe 難以描述的好品質)如何?
在英文當中混雜許多來自其他語言的用字,大多數的時候我們並不會去在意這些字詞的來源。但是在這些外來語當中,許多字詞仍保有它獨特的“異國風味",因此能夠在文章當中加入不同的色彩。只要針對正確的目標讀者謹慎的使用,或許您也能在市場行銷材料中加入這些字彙。Infoplease 列出了最常見的外來詞語提供參考。
http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0001619.html

 

11. 苦思如何才能為某種主題活風格找到合適的字眼?使用Vocabgrabber來激發靈感吧。
我們經常需要配合先前已由他人完成的素材、某個特定的文風或某個時代背景來撰寫行銷文案;要撰寫出彷彿出自他人之手的文章可說是撰文最艱難的任務之一。但要完成這樣的任務,首先還是要找出符合這個風格或限制的詞彙。您可將手上的素材貼在Vocabgrabber中,讓它分析其中的用字。待其產生一系列助激發靈感用字清單您就能使用這些字彙作基礎來進行寫作。
http://www.visualthesaurus.com/vocabgrabber/

結論

以上即我盡我所能在免費的工具和資源蒐羅出的實用英文寫作工具。集結這些工具的力量,外加您有智慧的用字方式,您能為不同的高科技產業、經銷部門、不同國家的市場甚至全球性的行銷文件選用不同的英文字彙。最後提醒您,在文案中使用不熟悉的字詞時請一定要先了解它們的使用方式(尤其若英文不是你的母語)。若您對這篇文章有任何意見或建議,歡迎您透過email:bob.c at we – convince dot com與我聯繫。感謝您花費寶貴時間閱讀,並期望您的行銷企劃一切順利。

Lost for words? 11 ways to help you find just the right words for your marketing documents

eleven tips

One of the dubious joys of being a traditional copywriter (as opposed to the content creation type) is choosing which word to write where. Whilst not the most difficult part of developing marketing material it can be hard to find the word to express elegance in a press release or tempt the reader in a print advertisement. In this article I highlight some of the specialized thesauruses and other language tools available to help you find suitable words for use in your English language marketing documents. Hopefully these tools will make your copy a little smoother and your life a little easier.

The 11 tools and sources of marketing words

The 11 tools and sources of marketing words

  1. Looking for a detailed list of alternative words? thesaurus.com and Babylon has every synonym
  2. Need to find a shorter word to fit in a space?  Try Thsrs
  3. Looking for alternative words in a hurry? Go visual with Visual Thesaurus & Lexipedia
  4. Trying to rhyme a specific word? Then look at Rhymes to get your message heard
  5. Need to use a simpler word? Let the Plain English campaign help
  6. Do you have a meaning but don’t know the correct word? Put a reverse dictionary to the test
  7. Need access to a thesaurus offline? Download Wordweb
  8. Searching for some slang? Visit Urban Dictionary to make your text talk street
  9. Looking for a word with the opposite meaning? Drive home the point with Antonym Finder
  10. Need to find a classy alternative? Add a little je ne sais quoi with a foreign phrase.
  11. Trying to find the right words for a theme or style? Get inspired with Vocabgrabber

1. Looking for a detailed list of alternative words? thesaurus.com and Babylon has every synonym
For a language with only 26 letters English contains a remarkable numbers of words, for a truly comprehensive view of which of these have related meanings try thesaurus.com. Less organized, but almost as comprehensive is the Babylon Thesaurus which uses the large Moby and Wordnet databases. However do beware that with such a long list of synonyms some of the words will have very specific uses and some will be quite obscure.
http://thesaurus.com http://thesaurus.babylon.com/

2. Need to find a shorter word to fit in a space? Try Thsrs
Thsrs is a shorter thesaurus, you type in a long word and it gives shorter words with approximately the same meaning. Some of the synonyms were a bit of a stretch and it didn’t know all the words that we tested it with. Even with those faults it’s a useful tool for taglines and coping with the restricted space of websites.
http://www.ironicsans.com/thsrs/

3. Looking for alternative words in a hurry? Go visual with Visual Thesaurus & Lexipedia
If you’re more of a visual person and need a thesaurus to quickly find good alternative words you can checkout one of the visual thesauruses. Type in a word and you’ll see it displayed at the center of a web of alternatives. Arguably best visual thesaurus is the one called Visual Thesaurus but you have to pay if you want to use it for more than a limited number of words at a time. A good free alternative is Lexipedia
http://www.visualthesaurus.com/ http://www.lexipedia.com/

4. Trying to rhyme a specific word? Then look at Rhymes to get your message heard
Not used that commonly but there may be times when you want to find a word that rhymes with another word in your marketing copy. The two choices is recommend for this are Rhymes which is a good rhyming dictionary and Write Rhymes which gives you a workspace for text with an inbuilt rhyming tool
http://www.writerhymes.com/ http://www.rhymes.net/

5. Need to use a simpler word? Let the Plain English campaign help
There are (occasional) times when you want to elucidate and others when you want to make it clear, the list of alternative words from the Plain English Campaign is a good start if you need a simpler word with the same meaning (Note that it’s a Pdf)
http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/files/alternative.pdf

6. Do you have a meaning but don’t know the correct word? Put a reverse dictionary to the test
Reverse dictionary lets you type what a word means and then searches for a word with a similar definition.  It uses multiple dictionaries so as long as you type the meaning like a dictionary definition you’re likely to find a suitable word. The downside is that only the first few results are likely to be relevant and even then you’re going to have to double check that they’re really the words you want.
http://www.onelook.com/reverse-dictionary.shtml

7. Need access to a thesaurus offline? Download Wordweb
There are many fine examples of thesauruses that you can download and use offline, but the one I personally find most useful is Wordweb.  Why? It’s the combination of a simple layout, a comprehensive dictionary and its wide range of linked words: “synonyms”,” antonyms’, “type of”, and “see also”.
http://wordweb.info/ (free, but paid pro version available)

8. Searching for some slang? Visit Urban Dictionary to make your copy talk street
Urban Dictionary is a publically edited slang dictionary which also provides synonyms (slangonyms?) for many of the slang.  There will of course be plenty of offensive, swear, racist, sexual words, and slang is always hard to use correctly unless you really know the word.
http://www.urbandictionary.com/

9. Looking for a word with the opposite meaning? Drive home the point with Antonym Finder
Many thesauruses offer antonyms (words with opposite meanings), but if want an uncluttered page just with antonyms the choice is far more limited.  Antonym Finder provides just this kind of site, giving you the chance to use contrasting words for effect.
http://www.synonym.com/antonym/

10. Need to find a classy expression? Add a little je ne sais quoi with a foreign phrase.
English itself is of course a mix of words from many languages and most the time we pay no attention to the origins of words. But there are still words and phrases that add colour because they are still distinctly foreign. If you’re very careful with just the right target audience you might even use some of these in your marketing material. Infoplease provides a list of the more common ones
http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0001619.html

11. Trying to find the right words for a theme or style? Get inspired with Vocabgrabber

We’ve all needed to write marketing copy that matches existing material, or is in a certain literary style, or feels like it comes from a certain period of time; writing as someone else is one of the hardest things to do. But a good start is to get the range and style of words right. Paste existing material or matching source text into Vocabgrabber to get analysis of the vocabulary used.  The nicely presented results will give you an inspiring list of words to base your copy on. 
http://www.visualthesaurus.com/vocabgrabber/

Conclusion

That’s it folks! As ever I’ve tried to stick to free tools and resources, with all these tools please do use your savvy choosing which word to use. You will of course select different words for the high-technology industries, the retail sector, different national markets, or for global marketing material, and please do make sure you understand the proper usage of an unfamiliar word before it goes in your copy (particularly if English is your second language). If you have any suggestions for further additions to this article let me know by email bob.c at we – convince dot com . Thank you for reading and good luck with your marketing.