專為中文母語人士撰寫的-精進英文國際行銷文件技巧

國際市場行銷

Convince 在看見台灣的英文行銷無法將本國電機電子及製造業的優秀表現順利發揚至國外的背景下而成立;致力使台灣全體國際市場行銷水準提升也是我們的首要目標之一,接下來我將解析我們台灣及大陸客戶和英文母語人士慣用的模式有什麼差別。這篇文章僅為本人過去十年來觀察並分析出在中文及英文架構上得不同。期望本文內容能為直接以英文撰寫商業文件的的您提供一些幫助。我同時也希望這篇文章能夠幫助大家瞭解為什麼我們不建議您在英語系市場中直接使用中文翻譯的文件。

6個關鍵要點:

  • 句子的長度-避免冗長的中文式文句。
  • 成語的使用-成語(idiom)多用於非正式文件,較少用於商業文件。
  • 用字-在選擇用字時隨時對於文件的正式度保持警覺。
  • 邏輯性思考-在用英文說明步驟時,記得要比中文的撰寫方式多增加幾個步驟,並且要詳細的闡述邏輯。
  • 橫向思考-跳躍式的伸展想像空間,但避免去說明它。
  • 各種英文風格-為有效的傳達您的行銷訊息,應該針對目標市場選擇相應的風格。

1.句子的長度

中文行銷文件中常見的模式之一就是創造(對英文來說)又臭又長、中間僅用逗號分格的連續句子。這通常是為了營造出一種動力,以及連串性的思考。這類的技巧無法運用在英文中因為:一、這在英文中不尋常,所以對一般讀者來說比較不易閱讀;二、在英文中一個單字並不像中文只有一個字母(字元),因此中文被翻譯成英文時會將句子拉得更長。當中文轉換成英文時,粗略估計會將文章的長度增加50-60%。顯示出當一句較長的中文句子翻譯至英文時會成為如何難以閱讀的英文句子。在一份最近由台灣高科技公司所發表的的新聞稿當中,一開頭就使用了一個含有67個字句子,我不確定是否有讀者讀看完第一句還會繼續往下讀。若作者能縮減句子的長度並使用修辭技巧這些句子緊密連結。

2.成語的使用

在中文網頁或科技行銷文件中普遍能看到成語的使用,這就在中文就像某種文化的捷徑(short-cut)。撰文不需要多作解釋就能表達出其概念並在增加文句的內涵。在中文裡成語同時也顯示出一個人受過好的教育與更深的文化涵養。在英文中要達到同樣的效果則需要通過更正式和更明確的用字。但因多數的英文成語(idioms)來自流行或受歡迎的小說,因此沒辦法如中文成語般給人正面的印象。換句話說,對英文人士來說成語近似俚語,大多用於對化而非正式場合。

3.用字選擇

在撰寫中文文件時通常我們會配合文件的型態使用較正式的文法用字。在涵蓋上百萬個字彙的英文中,配合正式的文件選擇正式的用字更加重要。選擇精確的字詞的技巧可說是致關重要,在市場行銷的領域中關鍵則在於如何選擇用正確的字彙來傳達產品的訊息。作為一名撰文,我花費在同義詞詞典(thesaurus-一本列出相似詞彙的詞典)中尋找最合適的字詞的時間比我實際打字的時間還要多。商用英文的專業用字和一般會話或學術上的用字十分不同。若在B2B商業文兼中使用一般會話中常用的字詞如“sticks to”(堅持),將會讓客戶立刻產生不專業的印象。但有些時候在B2C的印刷廣告文案中我們會選用一些非正式的字詞來拉近與消費者的距離。舉例來說,“look up”、“put off”這類的動詞片語都是不正式的。正式的字詞多數都較非正式字詞來的長,且有其特殊的使用方式。
請記得,在撰寫英文行銷文案或是廣告時,撰文選擇使用一個英文單字往往是因為那個單字隱含的意義(如,形容"某個行為"的動詞,其附帶語意為"快樂的";這個動詞就含有"快樂的"執行"某個行為"的意義。)舉例來說-要選擇一個字來形容手機表面的反光金屬,有下列的候選字彙:

  • Shines-強烈且持續地反射光線
  • Glints-當您移動它時會短暫地反射光線,通常就像揮動劍時上面所閃爍的光芒。
  • Gleams-因為物品新或潔淨而反射出光線。
  • Glistens-因為濕而反射出光澤。
  • Shimmers-(通常以是美麗地)不規則反射光線。

其他類似的字詞還有:sparkles, glitters, flashes, glimmers, twinkles…
依據所要表達出的感覺和某種特殊的反射方式來決定所要使用的英文字。

4.邏輯性思考

中文是以"背景"為基礎的語言-意即中文的文意通常建立在其字句的背後引申的意義上,擁有共通背景知識的人就會明瞭其中意含而不需再文中加以明確的闡述。這樣的特性簡化了一些簡單流程的描述,中文讀者也可輕鬆解讀其背後的邏輯性。與之相反的,英文文案中較少含蓋背後的引申意義,必須直接的將來龍去脈一件一件完整描述出來,而不能仰賴背景知識來傳達。即使再顯而易見不過的相關邏輯概念敘述也不能省略。這些要點在您作商業英文簡報以及準備工程(技術)報告時尤為重要。另外,在必需向目標讀者提出"具體證明(proof)"的市場行銷的文件中,明白闡述寓意也極為重要。如果我們在我們的廣告或其他行銷文案中聲明產品的能達到的效果,卻不明白的闡述前因後果,多數英文母語人士會對這樣的聲明抱持懷疑的態度

5.橫向思考

有時候我會聽到一些台灣客戶,談論到他們看到一些怪誕或可笑的行銷方式來自外國競爭對手。他們無法理解這些行銷手法想表達些什麼。若您也對這些現象抱持著疑問,您需要先從我們的教育體制來瞭解。
如同大多數六十歲以下的英美人士,我童年的英文課總是涵蓋著創意寫作的課程,例如:亂掰故事。我們藉由自己的故事被修正來學習,越有創意的故事得到得分數越高。剩餘的英文課程,我們都在閱讀小說,並分析作家在書中玩的文字和心理遊戲。我們從未被要求死背文章,或研讀其它的教科書。我們專注在創意和橫向思考的方式使用語言,而非鑽研架構或理論。因此我們很習慣天外飛來一筆與玩創意。這種教育的 "後遺症"出現在我們的印刷廣告、電視廣告、和DM當中。雖然所要傳達的訊息很通常會變得很隱晦,但是這些創意人使用橫向思考方式所作的詮釋卻有很高的接受度
讓我使用一個範例來說明這種情形在現實生活中如何影響市場行銷的方式和效果。最近有一個來自英國的Volkswagen廣告,內容是-"有一名衣服上有污漬的汽車銷售人員在潛在客戶詢問他Golf的價錢時,一直避而不答"。他不願意告訴顧客價錢的原因是因為一旦他說了,他們就會被這輛車的物超所值震驚到噴得這名銷售員一身咖啡。這背後的引申意義只用"銷售員身上的咖啡漬"+"他說出價錢時配合咖啡被噴出的音效"和"價錢的出現"來表達。這個廣告在英國成功後也在其他地區(包括台灣)播映。但這廣告在台灣或許因為廣告使用的連結台過隱晦,而答不到預期的效果最終被換了下來。"令人震驚的便宜售價"就是這個廣告中的橫向手法。(廣告連結:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3_m__VF9E4)。
那這陣老外廣受歡迎的橫向思考風潮是否也會影響到您所要撰寫的行銷材料?答案是肯定的,因為若您無法套用這樣的手法,您的行銷文案或廣告會顯得平淡、呆板且缺乏生氣。想要在競爭對手中脫穎而出就會變得更加困難

6.各種英文風格

這段內容跟前面描述中英文使用差異的部分不同,將著重在說明亞洲地區企業的英文市場行銷材料與英文母語國家的差異。我認為作出"許多來自太平洋地區企業的英文行銷文件都因英文風格被扭曲,導致難以有效對目標消費者傳達出所要傳達的訊息"這樣的評論並不算太過份。當然問題可能出英文並非這些人的母語,或是由於時間的壓力,我猜測還可能因為在這些地區的市場可能被過度均質化(homogenized)了。
經過多年高度專注在市場行銷上,西方買家習於以更審慎的態度看待各樣的行銷手法。因此他們也特別重視行銷文件內容,如強調品質的產品手冊(brochure)卻有英文錯誤會讓買家覺得可笑且降低購買意願。另外,在選擇適合的行銷手法時,也要針對不同國家的風土民情作變化。美國的市場行銷多以大膽且只借的風格為主;在英國,您會發現即使是B2B的行銷文案中也不乏幽默的切入點;在澳洲,則展現一種低調(使用隱喻)、較不正式且友善平等的風格。雖然同樣是英語系國家,您會向美國消費者銷售的文案內容必會和您提供給印度、英國或澳洲市場的內容大不相同。若在印度使用在美國市場使用的強勢語氣會讓印度的消費者對產品產生負面的印象。在美國使用英式的新聞稿內容也會顯得薄弱。好的英文品質加上適合目標市場的風格必將大大增加正面回應率且更有效的傳答您的行銷訊息。若您的文案需要在全球發布,您或許只好使用最偏向您關鍵市場的風格了。

結論

期望這篇文章能幫助您在撰寫英文市場行銷及商業文件時,不要忘了思考各層面的問題。中文和英文都是美麗的語言,但是他們中間有很大的差異性。我們理解準備高品質的行銷文件有多麼的困難。我希望這篇文章也能幫助您了解您在海外員工、客戶和國際代理商使用翻譯文件的影響和成效。若您也需要以英文撰寫成的有效的英文文案來幫助您增加銷售業績,歡迎透過電話03-5453418 或email: service@we-convince.com與我們聯絡。

Improving your English language marketing documents – a guide for Chinese speakers

International Marketing

Convince started because we felt that the quality of Taiwanese marketing materials in English was very poor. It fell far short of the excellent level of engineering and manufacturing that we saw everywhere around us in Taiwan. We felt that poor international marketing reduced the profits of good companies. As part of the aim of improving the overall standard of overseas marketing I would like to look at the differences in the patterns commonly used by our clients in Taiwan and China and between native English speakers. Therefore this article is simply my observations over the past 10 years on structural differences between Chinese and English. It is intended to aid you in writing your own business and marketing documents directly in English. I hope that it will also help explain why we would never recommend using marketing documents translated from Chinese for English speaking markets.

The 6 Key points

  • Sentence length – Avoid long Chinese style sentences
  • Idiom use -Use idioms in informal documents only and less in marketing
  • Word selection- be highly aware of the importance of the right choice of words and choose the right level of formality
  • Logical thinking – Add more steps than you would in Chinese and explain logic in more detail
  • Lateral thinking- Use larger jumps of the imagination and clarify less
  • English styles- Focus on selecting the right style of English for the target market for effective communication

1. Sentence length

A common pattern used in Chinese language marketing documents is to create long continuous sentences with commas to separate each part. The intention of this is to develop a momentum and a continuous train of thought. This technique cannot be used in English for two reasons; Firstly, it’s not common in English and therefore uncomfortable to read. Secondly, due to use of words rather than characters text naturally becomes longer when translated to English. We normally estimate that translation from Chinese to English adds 50 – 60% to the length of a document. This means that a long sentence in Chinese becomes unreadably long in English. A recent press release by a major Taiwanese high-tech company opened with a 67 word sentence, I‘m sure no reader got further than that sentence. It would have been better for the writer to have reduced the sentence length and tied them together with rhetorical techniques.

2. Idiom use

It’s not so unusual for traditional idioms to be used on Chinese language webpages or in technology marketing documents as a kind of cultural short-cut. This allows writers to include values and concepts without having to explain them in detail. And it also seems that knowledge of Chinese classical idioms is used as a sign of a good education and intelligence. In English a similar effect is achieved through the selection of more formal or more specific words. But because the origins of many English idioms are trades or popular novels they don’t have the cachet that Chinese idioms retain. In other words our idioms are more slang like so we tend to use them in conversation not formal settings.

3. Word selection

When writing in Chinese we tend to switch to formal grammar words and characters as the document demands. With a million words to choose from this is true to an even greater degree in English. The selection of the correct word is a vital skill, in fields such as marketing the choice of word communicates a lot about the product. As a copywriter I spend more hours selecting the perfect word from a thesaurus (a book containing collections of words with similar meanings) than I do typing. Professional words used business English tend to be very different from the words used in conversation or academia. Conversational words or phrases like “sticks to” will immediately make a commercial B2B document sound unprofessional. But in a B2C print advertisement we might well choose informal words to create closeness. As a quick guide phrasal verbs like “look up” or “put off” are always informal. Formal vocabulary is commonly longer than informal words and must be used in a more specific way.
Remember that in English words are often chosen because they have specific connotations (feelings associated with them) or more detailed meanings, not just for their main meanings.
Let me give you an example: We could say that a cellphone made from reflective metal:

  • Shines –reflects light strongly and constantly
  • Glints –reflects light for a short time as you move it, often like a sword
  • Gleams –reflects light because it is new or clean
  • Glistens – reflects light probably because looks like it is wet
  • Shimmers – reflects light unsteadily often in a beautiful way

Or sparkles, glitters, flashes, glimmers, twinkles…
Depending on the feeling required and exact type of reflection.

4. Logical thinking

Chinese is a context based language, meaning that a lot of information is implied from the background and context that words appear in rather the requiring the recipient to be directly told. This makes it far easier to describe simple processes without needing to explain in detail each stage and allows Chinese speakers to understand the logic of the situation without needing to be told every single thing. In contrast English is quite direct, it implies relatively little and far less is taken from the context. The end result is that to appear logical when writing in English more detail and logical links need to be included, even if they seem obvious. This should be kept in mind when doing business presentations and preparing engineering reports. One of the most significant areas this affects is marketing, where it adds the burden of needing to provide more proof. If we make a cause and effect claim in our marketing document English speakers tend to be skeptical unless there is a “why the cause causes the effect” included.

5. Lateral or creative thinking

Sometimes our Chinese speaking clients in Taiwan comment that the marketing they’ve seen from international competitors seems childish or more often illogical. They don’t really understand what it’s trying to say. To know why this is you need to understand our education system.
Like most Americans and British under the age of 60 my childhood English classes often consisted of creative writing i.e. making up stories. We learned to write by having these stories corrected and got higher grades by being more creative. The rest of our class time we read and analyzing novels in which writers played with words and ideas. We were never taught to memorize and there were no other textbooks. We focused on the creative and lateral use of language, not the structured and logical. We became very comfortable making sideways jumps and "playing with ideas". You can see the results of this education in print advertisements, TV commercials, and direct mail. We understand that the message is often indirect and we’re very comfortable with interpreting the lateral thinking of creative people.
Let me give you an example of how this affects marketing in reality. A recent Volkswagen commercial from Britain showed a car salesman with a stain covered clothes reluctantly giving potential Volkswagens buyers the price of a Golf. The reason that he doesn’t want to give them the price is that he knows that they will be shocked at how good value it is and that the coffee they’re drinking will come out of their mouths in amazement. This is implied by the stained shirt and the sound of coffee being sprayed out when he tells them and we see the price. Because of the ads success in the UK it was shown in other countries including Taiwan. In Taiwan the ad flopped and was pulled, probably because there is no logical connection between the stained shirt, coffee, reluctance, and the price. The shocking affordability is a lateral jump. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R3_m__VF9E4
Does this Western love of lateral thinking matter when you prepare your own marketing material? Yes, because without it your marketing will seem bland, dull, and lifeless, so you’ll have a far harder job of getting noticed amongst your competitors.

6. English styles

This observation is less on the difference between Chinese and English, and more to do with the differences between English language marketing material from Asian companies and that from countries that use English as a native language. I think that it’s quite fair to say that the English marketing documents coming from many companies in the Pacific tend to be very poor at altering the language style to efficiently get their message to target customers. This is maybe because people are writing in a foreign language or because of time pressures, I wonder if it is also because cultures in home markets are more homogenized.
After so many years with business focused on marketing to us western purchasers have become highly tuned to and skeptical of marketers. So that they pay greater attention to the content of marketing material for example a brochure that makes claims quality, but has language errors will be met with sneers and low order levels.
You also need to consider national differences in the language patterns used in marketing. The American marketing style tends to be bold and direct, in Britain you’ll find a lot of humor used even in B2B marketing material, and in Australia there is an undertone of informal equality. Even though it’s in the same language, the material you would write for an American market must be very different from that for India, Britain or Australia. Using a strong American B2C tone in the Indian market would likely turn consumers away from the product. Or using the British style in a press release in America would appear weak. Good quality English in the right style for the target market will always improve response levels and be more effective at communicating your marketing message. If your material does have to be used globally then the best you can do is to bias the writing style towards your key markets.

Conclusion

I hope you’ve found this article useful and that it’s given you a few things to think about when writing your English marketing and business documents. Both Chinese and English are beautiful, but they are very different languages. We understand how hard this makes it when preparing high quality marketing documents. I hope that it will also help you understand why your overseas employees, customers, and dealers complain about the use of translated material. To get effective English language copywriting that raises sales and is actually written in English contact Convince on 03-5453418 or service@we-convince.com