了解您的客戶-德國人

瞭解德國客戶

By Bob Cook

行銷的第一準則是了解您的客戶,由於we-convince.com以行銷角度來觀察不同 國家以及國民,非常值得您撥冗閱讀。首先我們將探討德國以及德國人。

概要:
德國為歐洲最大經濟體,亦為全球第五大經濟體,其商業及社會文化與不列顛文化 (英國、美國)大相逕庭。德國文化重心在於「Ordnung」,意為秩序、系統或組織,上述原理主宰了德國商業世界,亦被多數人視為德國成長以及品質名聲之關鍵。

了解「Ordnung」是能成功與德國客戶進行交易買賣之關鍵,意義在於,行銷資訊 必須以符合客戶的系統及生產線之方式來呈現產品以及服務,同時,行銷資訊也必須注重語言與思考模式之邏輯。

語言:
德語為主要語言,亦有其他方言。49%德國人能說流利的英語,多數人能通簡單的英文。第二語言為法語,法語人口僅3%。

德國行銷方式:
德國之B2B資訊常以較長、詳細之說明呈現,亦偏好以白皮書以及技術文件來輔助 銷售信函,直接以信函溝通仍為重要之方式。多數商人仍閱讀紙版新聞以及技術手 冊,較長的廣告內容可透過詳盡的事實以增加說服他人之機會,多種優惠亦呈現於 同一廣告中。用游擊式行銷(Guerilla marketing)及多餘的手法來吸引消費者注意 將無法取得商業團體的信任。

撰寫模式:
當地廣告、商業資訊以及平面廣告的內容常使用英文單字與片語,在德國,英語被 廣泛使用的原因有三:多數德國人皆以英語溝通、德文字詞普遍偏長、且若使用英文讓人感覺較為出色。

儘管德國人注重邏輯,但在德國的行銷資訊上常可見到使用具有雙重語意的單字, 以B2B行銷手法來說,這樣的方式主要是為了抓住讀者的注意力,而非只為搏君一笑。在英文與德文廣告裡誇飾的廣告手法並不常見,相反的,他們較偏好隱喻或明喻的方式來強調產品特色。

消遣日常生活的可笑之處是德國B2C行銷文件上的常見幽默手法,但這在他國人看 來可能極為突兀或怪異。

平面樣式:
商業溝通必須隨時合乎規範並展現專業,可透過抽象設計與極為清晰之架構與正式 的顏色(白、黑、藍、灰)來達成,此審美觀近似於北歐,而非法國或地中海,若嘗試以活潑可愛的風格來設計商業行銷文件將讓整體資訊看來欠缺專業度。

熱門文化主題:
德國支持環保議題已久,此仍為許多商業交易之主要議題,即使您的商品並無環保概念,於銷售說明中提及環保亦極為重要。

多數德國人以其國家的工程及品質名聲為傲,尤其是在汽車與印刷領域。

目前的商業主題包括:勞工關係、德國產業之效率問題,以及全球經濟衰退(德國 以出口為重心)。

請避免任何有關希特勒、歷史或二次世界大戰之議題,政治與國際新聞亦極為敏感,因多數德國人見聞廣泛,且持有強烈的個人意見。個人方面則避免談論收入與財富。

商業關係:
德國人期望商業關係於一開始較為正式,甚至有些冷漠,然而商業夥伴互以正式頭銜稱呼則並不常見,也不太強調人際關係,而較注重協商與業務,並偏好按照規則及程序進行,且常以大餐或啤酒慶祝工作達成目標,大致而言,來自於南方之德國人較為熱情且較不注重形式,北方德國人則較為「公事公辦」。

諮詢人員:Betty Lin曾於德國明斯特(Mueste)居住一年。

Marketing IQ – Germany

Convince English copywriting service

By Bob Cook

The first rule of marketing is understand your customers, take time to join Convince Copywriting as we look at different nations and nationalities from a marketing perspective. In part one of the series we will talk about Germany and the Germans.

Overview:
Germany has Europe’s largest economy and the fifth largest economy in the world in comparative terms. The business and social culture is very different from the Anglo cultures (UK, USA) and from the Latin cultures (Spain, and South America). It is a culture that focuses on “Ordnung”, which translates as order, system, or organization. This philosophy dominates the German business world more than anywhere else and is felt by many to be the key to Germany’s growth and reputation for quality.

Understanding ordnung is the passport to successfully selling and marketing to German customers. That means that materials must present products and services as fitting into the customer’s systems and product line. There must be a strong focus on logic in the language and patterns used in the marketing materials.

Language:
German is the main language , but has distinct regional dialects. 49% of Germans speak English fluently, most others speak some basic English. The second most popular language is French which is spoken by just 3%.

The style of German marketing:
When looking at German B2B material it is common to see long detailed explanations. There is a preference for white papers and technical documents to support sales letters. Direct mail remains an important form of communication, but many business persons still read paper based newspapers and technical journals. Long copy in advertisements provides the opportunity for detailed factual persuasion, and multiple benefits are often presented in the same advertisement. Guerilla marketing and gimmicks to attract attention are looked upon with distrust within the businesses community.

Writing patterns:
Local commercials, business materials and print advertising often include English words and phrases. The high levels of English use is due; to the number of people who speak English, the lack of short equivalent vocabulary in German, and the fact that English is seen as being “cooler”.

Despite the focus on logic it is not unusual for German language marketing material to play with the double meanings of German words. In B2B materials this pattern is used to grab attention rather than be humorous. In both English and German advertising superlatives are not common, instead metaphors or similes are used for emphasis.

The humor commonly found in B2C marketing materials in Germany can seem quirky or strange to other nationalities. This humor tends to make fun of the ridiculousness of everyday situations.

Graphical styles:
Business communication must appear formal and professional at all times. This is done by using minimalist design, very clear structuring and formal colors (white, black, blues, grays). The aesthetic is closer to Scandinavian than to French or Mediterranean. Any attempt at cuteness in business marketing materials will normally be seen as unprofessional.

Popular cultural themes:
Germany has a long history of support for green topics and this remains a major issue for many businesses. Even if your product does not have a green aspect it is important that issues such as disposal are addressed in sales literature.

Many Germans are rightly proud of their country’s reputation for engineering and quality, particularly in the areas of automobiles and printing.
Current business topics include; labor relations, problems with the efficiency of German industries, and of course the worldwide recession (Germany is highly export focused).

Avoid ANY reference to Hitler, history or the Second World War. Politics and world news are also sensitive, with many Germans having strong well informed opinions. At a personal level avoid discussion of income or wealth.

Business relationships:
Expect business relationships to be formal and a little cold at first. It is not unusual to hear business colleagues address each other using formal titles. Low emphasis is placed on the relationship between individuals, the focus being the negotiations. Expect to find a preference for doing things according to the rules, and step by step. It is normal for major project milestones to be celebrated with a big meal and a lot of beer. In general Germans from the South tend to be warmer and less formal, than their more “businesslike” Northern countrymen.

Consultant: Betty Lin who has just returned from a year in Muester, Germany