準備英語貿易展行銷文件之快速指南

By Bob Cook

準備撰寫英文行銷文件時的考量

首先,請考量參展對象是否為:

  • 找尋產品之零售採購業者
  • 尋找OEM供應商之製造業者代表
  • 尋求解決問題方式之研究工程師
  • 尋求新聞題材之記者
  • 欲大量購買之企業採購人士
  • 添購個人物品之最終消費者

第一,您可能有許多類的目標客戶可供選擇,只要鎖定這些客戶類型,並立即列出他們的需求清單,利用此清單作為您展覽行銷文件的根據,同時 以回覆客戶需求之方式來撰寫展覽資訊即可。

第二,請思考這份參展的行銷文件是否與整體行銷計畫相互輝映。行銷人員必須確保這份參展文件的訊息內容與其他行銷文件以及公司的行銷策略 是相同的。

撰寫內容

撰寫標題

撰寫一個能對買方有利的標題來吸引他們的目光。標題有多種形式可供使用:事實陳述、方法介紹、客戶實例。最簡單的形式為利用疑問句「您是 否想增加3%的產出?」、「為何您的筆電需消耗20%電力在背光源上?」 撰寫一個能引起買主想購買您的產品之標題,使買主更進一步閱讀您的資訊。

正確撰寫首段

請看報紙上的文章首段,您會發現該段為文章之摘要。撰寫展覽資訊時亦須如此:節錄您的銷售重點,正確撰寫首段是讓您的潛在客戶繼續閱讀資訊之關鍵。

撰寫本文

使用C.L.E.A.R.技巧撰寫

  • Clearly (簡潔):以簡潔方式撰寫並呈現。上述表示句子必須正確,無拼字錯誤、 文法錯誤、避免中式英文以及易於閱讀之版面。
  • Lean(精實):「Lean」表示無脂肪,而以「Lean」形容寫作時,則表示無 贅字。如同美國知名作家海明威(Hemingway)一般以直接、穩健之方式撰寫,仔細選用某些特定動詞,您就無須寫出過於複雜的說明。
  • Exact(準確):您的敘述越精確,客戶便越容易接受、相信。上述表示將「 我們的客戶已節省許多電費」改為「我們的客戶已節省17%之電費」更令人印象深刻,請確認這些產品特色在閱讀上易於發現且內容正確。
  • Aim(目的):在您撰寫前,請先思考這份參展文件要達到的目的。當您向客戶提供產品資料時,您亦希望客戶能有進一步行動,想想您的參展文件之目的是為了加強業務之訊息、讓客戶再次回到您的攤位、獲得客戶的聯絡資訊、寄送樣本、或是強調一個能讓客戶立即下單的強力產品優勢?
  • Relevant(連結):您的客戶可能有許多需求,因此您的文件內容要能與其需求有所相關,並提供關鍵資訊滿足這些需求說服客戶向您購買,每當您完成一個句子或段落,請思考「如何讓此句/此段與客戶需求做連結?」

其他實用建議:

  • 嘗試讓句子簡明易讀。撰寫技術性主題時,句子容易變的冗長與複雜, 有時我們無法避免上述情形,但請試著將這些長句拆解成短句更能提高讀 者的閱讀率與理解力,若您須解釋極為複雜之程序,請利用編號清單、圓 形或方型之分項標示或圖表。
  • 請記住撰寫對象為買主而非自己。撰寫時請使用「您的客戶」、「您的商品」、「您」,減少使用「我們」、「我們的產品」或「我們的公司」等詞語之次數,讓客戶覺得您在為他提供好處。
  • 重複重要事實。閱讀大量文件時容易遺漏某些事項,您須於各部分之內容重複關鍵優勢。
  • 使用正確的英文專有詞彙。若撰文者之英文程度有待加強,建議他在動筆撰寫英文文稿前先列出所有關鍵詞彙,接著使用英英辭典查詢詞彙之使用方式。

編排指南

編排是否具重要性?誠實來說,內容較編排更為重要,然而合適的編排將讓您的內容獲得注意,令更多人閱讀。

展覽結束時,您的客戶將會收到各家產品資訊,您必須確認客戶能注意到貴公司產品之詳細資訊,利用與眾不同的編排樣式能讓您的資訊脫穎而出,以下列出幾點建議:

編排須具有強烈視覺效果以吸引目光,若您的產品較不獨特,則編排越為重要,原因在於您須要讓產品被客戶納入考慮名單中,有效作法為使用放大的產品圖片,使其成為客戶之主要印象。

由於我們的大腦會先搜尋臉孔,因此個人形象將比產品更具吸引力,此外即使您身為OEM,亦須將產品形象包含在內才能讓客戶想像您的服務為何。

若您的產品為一套服務,納入相關圖表將更容易呈現資訊。假使情況允許,請納入最終使用者之正面形象,因為您的客戶的需求(目標)是讓他的顧客滿意。

編排內文與圖片之最簡便方式為使用「三分法則」,將圖片與內文間分為三部分,將關鍵圖片、訊息與資料分別排列於其中,以上述三項區分資訊,如右圖。

關於字型:

「Sans-serif」字體清晰,極為適合用於標題或表格。

有截線之字體對於較長句子或段落而言較為合適,因該字體易於閱讀。

避免使用可愛或是花俏的字體,它將使參展文件看來如國中生之設計。

請確認您選擇的字體適合內文以及其他圖片,如您使用較柔和之圖案來表現綠色產品,則使用較柔和之字體。粗黑字體適於嚴謹、專業之形象。

切勿使用11號以下之字體,或是90號以上之字體,否則會難以閱讀 ,假如您的傳單有如視力測驗,將在客戶潛意識當中產生負面印象。

避免以下錯誤

  • 文法或拼字錯誤:基本拼字與明顯之文法錯誤嚴重影響專業度,請於印刷前再三確認並更正錯誤。
  • 留白:您的客戶已得到行銷資訊,此時為銷售之最佳時機,切勿浪費半個版面。
  • 顏色對比不夠鮮明:內容與圖片須清晰且易於瀏覽,避免使用相近色調,能使您的行銷資訊更為突出。
  • 無購買資訊:客戶閱讀完行銷文件後,您必須告訴客戶下一步應如何進行 。行銷資訊之目的在於促使客戶向您下單,提供購買資訊係促使客戶下單之準則,購買資訊能強化主要訊息:「如欲為您的商品測試我們最新、精密的GPS,請撥打01 111 1111,向Jenny取得晶片組樣品。」
  • 內容非從目標客戶之觀點、語言、文化背景撰寫:首先,請記住參展的行銷文件是要給您的目標客戶來閱讀。即使您認為您的英文程度良好,但有許多英文詞彙在不同的內容中所表現的意思是不同的,況且不同的國家有著不同的文化背景及閱讀偏好,以英國來說,英國人偏好使用幽默的方式描述產品,而不習慣直接說出產品為何,反之美國人則較為直接,因此,建議您在撰寫參展的行銷文件、展覽傳單前請先研究目標客戶的文化背景並針對每個詞彙的使用方法詳細檢視,避免因語言、文化差異而產生隔閡與衝突,最佳的建議是直接尋找一位英語母語的撰文者為您的目標客戶打造一份他能看出您的競爭優勢為何之參展文件。

The Quick Guide to Preparing Your English Trade Show Documents

Is your exhibition material ready for printing?

By Bob Cook

Considerations when marketing documents

The first consideration is the audience who will attend the exhibition? Are they?

  • Retail purchasers searching for products to sell
  • Manufacturer representatives looking for OEM suppliers
  • Research engineers looking for solutions to problems
  • Journalists looking for news stories
  • Corporate purchasers looking to buy in bulk
  • End users looking to buy for themselves

When there is likely to be a mixture choose your target customers. Once you work out who your customers are, grab a sheet of paper and make a list of their needs.

Use this list as the basis of your exhibition material, write your documents as an answer to their needs.

The second consideration is how the exhibition material fits into the overall marketing plan. The marketer must insure that the messages match those used in other marketing documents and the company marketing strategy.

The Text

Writing the headline

Write a headline that offers a benefit to the buyer. There are many forms of headline available you can use; state a fact, use a how to pattern, use a customer testimonial. But one of the easiest patterns to use is a question “Do you want to improve yield by 3 percent?”, “Why do your netbooks use 20 of their power for their backlight?” Write a headline that makes the buyer need your product, so they must read the main text.

Getting the first paragraph right

Look at the first paragraph of any story in a newspaper and you’ll see that it is a summary of the rest of the article. You need to do the same with you exhibition material – summarize your key selling point. Getting the first paragraph right is the key to getting your potential customer to read the rest of the material.

Writing the main body of the text

Use the acronym C.L.E.A.R. for your writing:

  • Clearly written and presented – this means goods sentences, no misspellings, no grammar errors, no Chinese-English and no hard to read fonts.
  • Lean – when we say lean we mean no fat, when we describe writing as lean it means no unnecessary words. Write directly and strongly like Hemingway.Carefully choose specific verbs, so you don’t have to write complex explanations for processes.
  • Exact – the more exact your statements are the easier they are to accept and believe. That means that saying “Our customers have saved a significant amount on their electricity bills” is far less effective than saying “Our customers have saved an average of 17% on their electricity bills”. Make sure that specifications are easy to find and accurate.
  • Aim – Before you write, consider the aim of the material. Each time you give a document to a customer there should be a specific action you want from them. Is your exhibition material there – to re-enforce your salesperson’s message, to convert those who walked away from your booth, to get contact information, to get samples sent, or to focus on a single strong advantage that will make them place an immediate order?
  • Relevant – your customer has a set of needs, keep your writing relevant to those needs, and provide information to get them to buy from you. Every time you write a sentence or paragraph think, “How can I make this relevant to my customer’s needs?”

Other useful pieces of advice are:

Try and keep the sentences short and readable. When describing technical subjects it’s easy to write very long complex sentences. Sometimes this is unavoidable, but often it would be far better to break these sentences down into shorter ones. If you have to explain very complex processes; use numbered lists, bullet points or a diagram.

Remember to write for the buyer not yourself. When writing focus on write words about “your customer”, “your product”,” you” and reduce the number of times you use “we”, “our product” or “our company”.

Repeat important facts. It is easy to miss things if you’re reading though many documents. This means that you need to repeat key benefits in more than one part of the text.

Use the correct technical words. Writers who know that their English isn’t that good need to start by making a list of all the key words that they will use before they write the copy. Then use an English- English dictionary to check the usage of the words.

Layout guide

How much does layout matter? To be honest it doesn’t matter as much as the text, but good layout gets your text noticed and gets your text read.

At the end of an exhibition your customers will have a lot a material; you need to make sure that they can find your company’s product details. Make your style is distinctive enough to standout.

You should make the visuals strong and eye catching. The less unique your product is the stronger and more important the layout is, because you need to make it onto the customer’s short list. An effective way of doing this is to include a large close up of the product as the main image.

Because our mind searches for faces an image of a person will catch the eye more than just a product. Even if you are an OEM do include product images so the customer can see what it looks like.

If the product is a service, include a simple diagram to make it easier to visualize.

If possible include a positive image of an end user, your customers goal is to make his customers happy.

The simplest way to layout your text and images is to use the rule of thirds. Divide the space between images and text into thirds. Place key images, messages and data where the lines cross. Divide the material areas along these thirds.

A few words about fonts:

San-serf fonts are clear and good for headlines or tables.

Fonts with serifs are better for any longer sentences or paragraphs, because they are easier to read.

Avoid cute or fancy fonts, they tend to make exhibition material look like it was designed by a Junior High School Student.

Make sure your choice of font matches the content and the other visuals. If you use soft visuals for a green product, use a soft font. Fonts with hard bold lines match a hard professional image.

Don’t use sizes smaller than 11 points or bigger than 90 both are hard to read. Customers will subconsciously feel negative if your handout becomes a reading test.

Avoid these mistakes

  • Making grammar & spelling errors – nothing says unprofessional like basic spelling mistakes and obvious grammar errors. Check and correct these mistakes.
  • Leaving one side blank – your customers have your materials in their hands. This is your chance to sell to them, don’t waste half of it.
  • Not having enough contrast in the colors – both text and images need to be clear and easy to see. To make the content stand out from the background avoid similar brightness levels.
  • No call to action – at the end of reading your exhibition handout the customer needs to be told the next step he should take. The purpose of the document is to lead them down the path to giving you a purchase order, a call to action is a guidepost on that path. A good call to action re-enforces the main message “Test our new high accuracy GPS for your product – call Jenny on 01 111 1111 for chipset samples”
  • The Content Not Written from Target Customer’s View, Language, and Culture: First, please remember the documents you use in English trade show is for your target customer not for you. Even you think your English ability is very good, you must still understand that words which have one meaning in one context will often mean something very different in another sentence. Not only this but different countries have such different cultures and reading preferences. England for example, they like to describe the products in a humorous way, and don’t like to describe them very directly. In contrast, Americans always tend to be direct in their descriptions. So before you write the documents, please undertake research about your customer and check every piece of vocabulary in detail. This way you will be able to avoid conflicts caused by language and culture gaps. The best suggestion for you is finding an English native copywriter who can write for your customers and enable them understand your unique advantages.