搶救不景氣的B2B行銷術 – 5個讓你成功存活的技巧

Convince English copywriting service

By Steve Wallace & Bob Cook

全球經濟不景氣時,當行銷策略一再被修正,預算也一再被減少時,你的公司如何能就目前國際市場上僅存的機會做最大的運用? BobCook和SteveWallace提供五個簡單明瞭的方法,讓台灣的B2B廠商能持續保有海外市佔率和檢討景氣低迷對消費者所帶來的影響。

「商場如戰場」,這句話用在現在一點都不為過。公司裁員到處可見,合約不像以前一樣那麼有保障,開了發票給買家能收到錢的 機率也變得微乎其微。現代人因為怕被裁員,做決定時戰戰兢兢,左右不定的狀況處處可見。這些因素乍看之下會使有效的行銷策略更難產生,但換個角度想,其實不然;因為現在消費者的購買動機變得更加單純。在持續了解如何在市場上生存的同時,也請思考以下文章所引申的含意。

不景氣中的簡易行銷術

  1. 一分一毫都必須精打細算。

    現今大環境的經濟狀況讓以往充足的行銷預算受到極大的緊縮。大膽的行銷策略已經不適合當下的環境,現在必須讓你想傳達的訊 息直接傳遞給交易的關鍵決策者,這代表重新使用過往有效的手法,像是高品質的推銷信、廣告傳單和鎖定式行銷等等。經濟不景氣將使買方變得格外小心,因此,專注於事實和現況的行銷策略能使對方對你的產品更有信心。此外,還有如同白皮書和產品性能 這類偏向報告式的宣傳手段,這些能夠提供大量資訊的工具,都是吸引買家和贏得他們肯定的關鍵。

  2. 把重心放在之前和現有的顧客。

    不可否認的,跟保住現有和重拾舊有的客戶相比,開發新的客戶必須要花更多的錢。有些廠商就算現在跟你沒有商業上的往來,但從前的合作關係使對方對你的公司有一定程度的了解。對他們來說,跟你繼續合作所面臨的風險遠比跟你的競爭對手合作來的低。 因此,對認識你的廠商積極自我推銷的成功率比把經費用在品牌塑造和廣告行銷上來的高。隨著情勢的改變,特別是你所提供的服 務或產品能降低他們的成本時,之前拒絕過你的廠商也很可能成為現在的潛在客戶。

  3. 整頓行銷部門。

    行銷和業務同為銷售過程的一部份,這兩者是否都該歸於同一部門之下?最近的裁員潮讓這個話題變得格外熱門。

    行銷和業務在同一個部門的好處是在溝通上和資訊接受上將較為透明和一致性,壞處是兩者的領域不同,所需要的專業也有所差異 。如果你看過頂尖業務員寫的廣告傳單,就會知道一個頂尖業務員跟一個頂尖行銷人員所呈現的傳單有多大的差別了。許多B2B公司已經發現自己專注於業務上的發展,把行銷相關業務外包出去可達到一個好的平衡點。千萬不要排斥把諸如新聞稿、專業推銷信 等等的行銷工具外包給專業的代理商,你將發現在現今的環境中,這樣做將讓你省下更多的錢。

  4. 檢討業務和行銷工具。

    消費者會因為經濟衰退強迫重新思考進行採購的優先條件。舉例來說,一個負責生產管理的經理從前會希望能找到生產流程順利的 供應商使問題降到最低。但隨著景氣的影響,他手下的員工多出了許多額外的時間,他們會使用更便宜低階的材料,而因為跟提供 低價的供應商合作所產生的問題可以讓員工們用他們多出來的時間去處理和善後。強調供應品質和流程的推銷信和行銷廣告對買方 來說已經幾乎毫無吸引力,因為他們現在關心的是價格的高低。現在的工廠大多都已經從“Just in time”﹝及時制生產﹞演變成“Just good enough”,便宜和數量足夠就好了。這是現在B2B產品和服務必須要面對的新生態。

  5. 仔細檢查外語的書信和工具。

    儘管你的產品和服務所陳述的中文資訊都是最新,你也必須確保外語的相關內容也是。如果你的客戶大多是日本人,就請一個母語 是日文的人來幫你審稿和處理相關事宜。
    當你的行銷工具必須以外語呈現時,你必須確保該語言的精準度,絕不能只是單純直接地翻譯中文。對海外的買家來說,語意模糊或是帶有錯誤訊息的行銷工具只會讓你喪失專業的形象,對方也將對你的產品或服務打上一大問號。身處在現在不景氣的環境下,相信這些問題都是你不想碰到的。

    網站的外語內容和介面必須持續地更新。如果你的外語網站內容還是2004年的產品訊息,海外買家將不會主動來連絡及詢問其他產品內容。

最後記得未來還有很長的路要走。

一個業務經理最近問了我一個問題;公司的銷售策略應該由「高品質高價」轉為「高品質低價」嗎?他擔心如果把價格壓低,景氣回升後的銷售利潤將無法提高,公司還是持續賠錢。我的答案是請他把眼光放寬,繼續維持高品質高價的銷售策略,同時跟財政部 門商討對策,放寬買家的付款期限使他們能撐過這段時間。

經濟不景氣過後,打造新的產品品牌和宣傳活動所需要的花費,將比現階段的守成高出許多。不景氣終究會結束,屆時買家將一個 一個地尋找供應商,你必須維持和構想強而有力的行銷策略以為此做準備,讓你成為買家第一個想到的合作供應商,贏得一筆大訂單。

Recession B2B Marketing– 5 Techniques To Help You Survive

Convince English copywriting service

By Steve Wallace & Bob Cook

When a recession hits marketing strategies are revised and marketing budgets cut, but what should your company do to best make use of its opportunities remaining in the marketplace? Bob Cook and Steve Wallace look at 5 simple techniques that Taiwan’s B2B companies can use to retain overseas market share and examine how the recession affects business customers.

The business world turned into a warzone – layoffs are everywhere, contracts are being torn up and the chances of invoices being paid is near zero. Fears of being downsized now dominate almost every business decision; this makes effective marketing twice as hard as it was before. Or does it? Maybe it makes it simpler. Now we know what really motivates purchasers. Consider the implications of this as you read these techniques for survival marketing.

Simple recession marketing techniques:

  1. Make every dollar work for you

    Current economic realities mean that marketing budgets are leaner than they have been for a long time. Adventurous spending is out, the main focus of your marketing has to be getting your message to the key decision makers. That means going back to those tried and tested techniques – high quality sales letters, brochures, targeted advertising. In recessions buyers become more nervous so marketing material that focuses on facts builds reassurance. Information based materials like white papers, performance comparisons tell buyers that they are making the right choices.

    In addition it’s time to cut down on brand building and focus on measurable marketing techniques , then make best use of the ones that you find work effectively.

  2. Shift your focus from getting new customers to existing customers and ex-customers

    The simple truth is that as it costs more to acquire new customers than to retain those you already have or regain those that have done business with you in the past. Even if they no longer use you, companies that you’ve done business with in the past have an impression of the way your company works and what it offers. This means that you are perceived as a lower risk than many of your competitors. Aggressively marketing to those who know you offer more chance of success than branding or advertising. Also remember that potential customer’s situation has changed too, so previous offers that were rejected may now be attractive especially if they offer substantial savings.

  3. Restructure your marketing department

    Sales and marketing are all part of the selling process, but should they be part of the same department? With recent layoff this is becoming a hot topic.

    The advantage to having them in the same department is that the message is consistent and clean. The danger is that sales and marketing require different skills. Great salespersons don’t make great marketers as anyone who has seen an brochure written by a sales person can tell you.

    Many B2B companies are finding that creating a department focused on sales, and using an external marketing agency is an good balance. Don’t be afraid to outsource the production of technical sales letters, marketing materials, press releases etc, in the current economy it can be a far cheaper option than retaining employees to do this in-house.

  4. Revise your sales and marketing materials

    The recession has forced customers to rethink their priorities. For example production managers that once searched for suppliers who could ensure trouble free plant operation now have employees with an excess of free time to sort out production problems and fine tune machines for use with lower grade materials. Sales and marketing documents written to emphasize supply reliability and consistency have little effect on the minds of buyers looking for low prices. With most plants running at low capacity just- in-time inventory management is being replaced by just good enough, just enough stock and just cheap enough. The way B2B products and services are sold has to reflect this new reality.

  5. Check the quality of the foreign language material you send out

    Even if your Chinese language materials are up to date, you need make sure your foreign language materials are too. If many of your customers are Japanese , get a native Japanese speaker to read your documents. If it’s possible, let him write the marketing documents so you are totally able to avoid the problems of language and cultural understanding that non-native speakers naturally face.

    When writing marketing materials in a foreign language make sure your materials are written in the target language not badly translated from Chinese. For overseas buyers marketing materials with weak selling messages, errors or mistakes give the impression of unprofessionalism and create unnecessary worries about the standard of the products – exactly what you don’t need at this time.

    Regularly update your foreign language website; nobody is going to bother contacting you for information about your products if the technology shown on your English language website is from 2004.

Finally remember it’s still a long term game

A sales director recently told me of a dilemma he faced – should shift his positioning strategy from high quality/high price to high quality/low price. If he shifts he worries that the margins will remain low even at the end of the recession and the company will still be losing money. The answer is probably for him to think long term and retain the high quality/high price position, but work with finance to focus on offering very favorable payment terms to get through the recession.

The cost of rebuilding brand and product awareness after a recession is significantly higher than the money spent maintaining it during the downturn. At some stage the recession will end and your customers will be looking for suppliers. You need to maintain powerful marketing to be in a strong position when that happens, and to be the first name they think of when they think of when they start looking for suppliers to fill that first big order.